Plenary Lectures



Stacey Ma
VP & Global Head of IMP Quality, Pharma Technical Development, Roche


Sunday, July 29, 2018 @ 5:00-5:40pm

"Analytical Technologies in the Biopharmaceutical Industry"


Stacey is an internationally recognized expert in analytical sciences for biopharmaceuticals.  Stacey has a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from University of Minnesota and a Ph.D. in Chem. Eng. from Yale University. Her thesis work involved the development of Capillary Electrophoresis (CE). After joined Genentech in 1996, she developed the first CE-based purity assay in the control system for the licensure of Rituxan®. Since then she has held positions of increasing responsibility in Analytical, Pharmaceutical Development, and New Product Management in Supply Chain. She led numerous advances in analytical development, fast-to-clinic platform formulations, novel excipients, lab automation and implemented innovative CMC strategies for improving the commercialization of new products.  Stacey contributed directly to the commercialization of 10+ medicines, including breakthrough products such as Rituxan®, Erivedge®, Ocrevus®, Hemlibra®. Stacey currently heads Roche’s Investigational Medicinal Products (IMP) Quality function, and is responsible for ensuring product quality for new medicines in clinical studies globally. She is a key collaborator with international Health Authorities, and is a recognized advocate in shaping quality and regulatory expectations and standards. Stacey’s influence extends to the biopharmaceutical industry where she has co-chaired many international scientific conferences and workshops related to CMC development strategies, with several co-sponsored by FDA, EMA, and Chinese FDA.


Richard D. Smith
Battelle Fellow and Chief Scientist, Biological Sciences Division, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA

Sunday, July 29, 2018 @ 5:40-6:20pm

"New Paths for Ultra-High Resolution Ion Mobility Separations with Mass Spectrometry based upon Structures for Lossless Ion Manipulations"

Dr. Smith is Chief Scientist for the Biological Sciences Division at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory.  He is the author or co-author of more than 1100 peer-reviewed publications, holds 60 US patents, the recipient of eleven RD 100 Awards, the 2003 American Chemical Society Award for Analytical Chemistry, the 2009 HUPO Discovery Award in Proteomics Sciences, and the 2013 ASMS Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry Award. His research has included key developments in the combinations of both supercritical fluid chromatography and capillary electrophoresis separations with mass spectrometry, as well as contributions to improving the sensitivity of MS using electrospray ionization, such as the development of the ‘ion funnel’. A key part of his research over the last decade has involved the development and application of approaches for improving ion mobility separations in conjunction with MS. More recently his research has included the development of Structures for Lossless Ion Manipulations (SLIM) to enhance mass spectrometry capabilities, and facilitating  fast and sensitive ultra-high resolution ion mobility separations as well as other complex gas phase ion manipulations for a range of applications. 


Alberto Cavazzini
Professor of Analytical Chemistry, University of Ferrara, Ferrara, Italy

Thursday, August 2, 2018 @ 2:30-3:00pm

"State of the Art and Future Perspectives of Ultrafast Chiral Separations by Liquid Chromatography"


Alberto Cavazzini received his PhD in Chemical Sciences from the University of Ferrara in 2000. He was researcher fellow at the University of Tennessee (Knoxville, TN, USA) and Oak Ridge National Laboratories (Oak Ridge, TN, USA) from 2000 to 2002, in the group of Prof. Georges Guiochon. In 2002 he returned to Italy after accepting an Assistant Professor position at the University of Ferrara, which he held until 2014 when he became Professor of Analytical Chemistry at the same university. His research activities focus in the field of separation science, particularly in liquid chromatography. They include a variety of theoretical, experimental and applied aspects of linear and nonlinear (preparative) liquid chromatography, reaction chromatography, (ultrafast) chiral chromatography, stationary phase characterization and development, investigation of mass transfer processes in porous media, study of retention mechanisms. He is author or co-author of >100 papers, 8 book chapters and 1 patent and he has lectured extensively at local national and international levels. He is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of Chromatographia and he has been Guest Editor of the special issue of Journal of Chromatography A (vol. 1218). He is member of the permanent scientific Committee of ISC, International Symposium on Chromatography.


Koji Otsuka
Professor, Department of Material Chemistry, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan

Thursday, August 2, 2018 @ 3:00-3:30pm

"Specific Interactions in Liquid Phase Microscale Separations"


Koji Otsuka is a professor of Analytical Chemistry of Materials, Department of Material Chemistry, Graduate School of Engineering, Kyoto University, since 2002. He received his Ph. D. from Kyoto University in 1986 under the supervision of Prof. Teiichi Ando and Dr. Shigeru Terabe. After receiving the JSPS Fellowship for Young Scientists (1986–1988), he joined Osaka Prefectural College of Technology as a senior lecturer (1988–1990) and an associate professor (1990–1995), then moved to Himeji Institute of Technology as an associate professor of the Prof. Terabe’s Lab (1995–2002), followed by moving to Kyoto University. His research interests include the development of micro/nano scale high performance separation techniques using electrophoretic and chromatographic methods. He has published approximately 180 papers and book chapters, cited over 8000 times. He received the Award of the Society for Chromatographic Sciences (2006), the Chemical Society of Japan Award for Creative Work (2009), the Award of the Japan Society for Analytical Chemistry (2014), and the Terabe Shigeru Prize (2014). He is a member of the Permanent Scientific Committees of the HPLC and ITP Symposia and an editor of the Journal of Separation Science (Wiley-VCH).


Mary J. Wirth
W. Brooks Fortune Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA

Thursday, August 2, 2018 @ 3:30-4:00pm

"Avoiding the Compromise: New Bonded Phases for Coupling Protein LC with MS"


Dr. Mary J. Wirth is the W. Brooks Fortune Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Purdue University.  Her research is on new materials for protein separations, including characterizing heterogeneity of protein drugs, improving top-down proteomics, and discovering trace protein biomarkers for screening of early aggressive cancer.  Dr. Wirth received her B.S. degree in 1974 from Northern Illinois University, and her Ph.D. in 1978 from Purdue University.  She has been named a Fellow of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy, and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Wirth’s research has been recognized by awards that include the ACS Analytical Division Award in Spectrochemical Analysis, the EAS Gold Medal Award in spectroscopy, the ANACHEM Award, the Eastern Analytical Symposium Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Fields of Analytical Chemistry, the Dal Nogare Award from the Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley, and the Jubilee Medal from the Chromatography Society.