2018 Georges Guiochon Faculty Fellowship  

GuiochonAbout the Fellowship

The purpose of the Fellowship is to honor the memory of Georges Guiochon and recognize his major contributions to HPLC, including his interest in fostering the careers of young people in separation science. The Fellow will be selected annually and will receive a $15,000 research grant and a commemorative plaque. The inaugural Fellow will be expected to present specially dedicated lectures at the HPLC 2018 symposium in Washington, DC and at the HPLC 2019 symposium in Milan, Italy for which travel support will be provided. The Fellowship is sponsored by HPLC, Inc. The award will be presented during the Opening Plenary Session on Sunday, July 29.

Eligibility Criteria

All full-time faculty members at U.S. academic or government institutions who are within 10 years of their first independent research appointments at the time of the award are eligible for consideration. The selection process will be based on overall excellence in research in fields aligned with liquid phase separation science.


Nominations are welcome from any individual or institution and are due on January 9, 2018. Individual faculty members may nominate themselves. All nominations should include a brief professional biography of the candidate and a complete publication list. Up to two seconding letters may also be included but not required. A citation of 200 words or less stating why the candidate is worthy of the Fellowship should be submitted. The complete package should be sent as an email attachment to the Secretary/Treasurer of HPLC Inc., currently Professor Edward Yeung (edyeung@iastate.edu).

Selection Process

The U.S. members, one European member and one Asian member of the Permanent Scientific Committee of the HPLC series, will select the Fellow annually and an announcement will be made 5 months prior to the HPLC meeting of that year.

About Georges Guiochon

Professor Georges Guiochon (1931-2014) was born in France. He graduated in 1953 with an MS degree in engineering at Ecole Polytechnique (Paris, France) and received a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Paris (France) in 1958. He was a Professor of Chemistry at Ecole Polytechnique (1958-1985) and at the University Pierre et Marie Curie of Paris (1968-1984), then at Georgetown University, Washington, D.C. (1984-1987). He was appointed a Distinguished Professor at the University of Tennessee (Department of Chemistry) and a Senior Scientist at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Division of Chemical Sciences) in 1987. Georges Guiochon was the undisputed master of the theory in almost all fields related to chromatography. He presented many rigorous treatments on retention and, especially, efficiency in liquid chromatography. He provided the theoretical foundation for the large-scale application of preparative chromatography, which is now one of the key technologies of the emerging biopharmaceutical industry. More recently, Georges Guiochon guided the re-emergence of supercritical-fluid chromatography in the fundamentally correct directions. No other scientist has demonstrated the breadth of knowledge, nor the unceasing motivation, that Georges Guiochon used to shape the field of chromatography to where it is today. His efforts garnered awards that included 2 from the ACS and the LCGC Lifetime Achievement Award.  He received honorary doctoral degrees from the Universities of Pardubice, Ramon Llull (Barcelona), Ferrara, and Science and Technology (Liaoning), and was inducted into the Spanish Academy of Science in 2011. He published 10 books and about 1100 peer-reviewed papers while performing research with over a hundred graduate students and post-doctoral fellows.


2018 Georges Guiochon Faculty Fellows Awardee

NemesPeter Nemes
, University of Maryland, College Park, MD

Professor Nemes' research at the University of Maryland, College Park develops microanalytical separation technologies to extend high-resolution mass spectrometry (HRMS) from a traditionally cell-population averaging tool to one capable of measuring single cells in the context of normal and impaired development. This research program builds on trainings that Prof. Nemes received in cell and developmental biology of the South African clawed frog (Xenopus laevis)from Prof. Sally A. Moody (George Washington University, Washington, DC), analytical neuroscience as a Post-doctorate Associate from Prof. Jonathan V. Sweedler (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL), and analytical mass spectrometry as a Ph.D. Graduate Student from Prof. Akos Vertes (George Washington University). At University of Maryland, Prof. Nemes adopts cell biological tools to identify and microsample individual embryonic cells and neurons, designs microanalytical workflows to extract metabolites, peptides, and proteins from these cells, advances microscale separation to distinguish molecules, and uses HRMS for identification and quantification. Specifically, he custom builds capillary electrophoresis electrospray ionization HRMS systems with attomole–zeptomole sensitivity, 4–5 log-order quantitative range, and ~500,000 theoretical plate number to analyze cells. These technologies allow detection of ~300 different metabolites and ~2,000 different protein groups by analyzing ~1–10 ng, or <0.1% of single cells in frog (Xenopus laevis) embryos and ~700 protein groups from ~250 pg of protein digest from mouse neurons. His research group uncovered previously unknown metabolic and proteomic differences between identified cells that give rise to different types of tissues in the embryo and discovered metabolites that are able to alter cell fate decisions. Developing new-generation microscale separation tools that are able to extend HRMS to single cells raises exciting new opportunities in analytical chemistry and basic biology, cell and developmental biology and neuroscience in particular, to help better understand how cell-to-cell differences orchestrate states of health and disease during development.

Past Faculty Fellows


2018 Professor Peter Nemes, University of Maryland, College Park

2017 Professor Dwight Stoll, Gustavus Adolphus College

2016 Professor Ying Ge, University of Wisconsin-Madison

2015 Professor Amy E. Herr, University of California, Berkeley